Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction

There are a lot of literary prizes being awarded these days.  I tend to look at prize-winning authors and books as a filter.  I know this is a flawed method, but in a world with so many books and so little time, I have to rely on something to help me whittle down my choices.

One of the prizes I follow is the Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction.  The 2015 winner will be announced June 3rd.  The short list is:

  • Rachel Cusk for Outline
  • Laline Paull for The Bees
  • Kamila Shamsie for A God In Every Stone
  • Ali Smith for How To Be Both
  • Anne Tyler for A Spool of Blue Thread
  • Sarah Waters for The Paying Guests

Of these books, I had difficulty getting into two of them: How to be Both, and The Bees.   In fact, I put them down after a few pages.  If one of them wins on June 3rd, I imagine I’ll pick it up again!  I have a feeling Sarah Waters is going to take the prize, but we shall see!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s